CSL supports the promotion of excellence in science

The health and economic well-being of Australians is reliant upon the excellence of our practising scientists. As Australia's largest biopharmaceutical company, CSL is committed to supporting the medical research community and recognising significant contribution to biomedical research by an Australian scientist. 

CSL Centenary Fellowship

The CSL Centenary Fellowships were established in CSL’s centenary year, 2016, to pay tribute to CSL’s origins by supporting Australia’s scientific community. Their intent is foster excellence in Australian medical research by supporting mid-career Australian scientists to pursue world-class research.

The CSL Centenary Fellowships were are competitively-selected grants offered to mid-career (minimum 4 years post-doctoral) medical researchers. Two individual fellowships are to be awarded each calendar year. The total value of each award is $AUD 1.25 million, which is paid in annual instalments of $AUD 250,000 to the fellow’s employing university or medical research institute.

The fellowship provides for a full-time salary plus associated research costs. The breakdown is to be determined by the Fellow, in conjunction with the employing institution at the commencement of the Fellowship.

The fellowships are to be primarily awarded for early stage and translational research with a focus on rare and serious diseases, immunology, and inflammation.


The CSL Florey Medal

The Florey Medal was inaugurated in 1998 by the Australian Institute of Policy and Science (AIPS) to celebrate the centenary of the birth of Sir Howard Florey, Australia’s Nobel Prize winner and discoverer of penicillin. The Florey Medal is part of the Tall Poppy Campaign which aims to recognise and promote scientific and intellectual excellence in Australia.  

In collaboration with AIPS, CSL is proud to recognise significant achievement  and excellence in biomedical research with the Florey Medal.  The CSL Florey Medal recognises life-long achievement in the advancement of human health, while the CSL Young Florey Medal, which was established in 2014, recognises excellence in early career research. We believe these medals help to encourage ongoing achievement while creating role models for the younger generation. 

2016 CSL Young Florey Medal Awarded to Rocket Scientist Turned Medical Researcher

CSL congratulates Professor Mark Kendall from the University of Queensland on being awarded the 2016 CSL Young Florey Medal. Professor Kendall was recognised for developing a new vaccine technology known as a ‘Nanopatch’. The Nanopatch is a small square of silicon with 20,000 microscopic spikes that deliver vaccines directly to the skin’s immune cells.

A potential alternative to the traditional needle and syringe, the technology is painless, requires a fraction of the dose, and doesn’t need a fridge which means vaccines can be delivered to millions more people in the developing world.

2016 CSL Young Florey Medal

Sponsored by CSL, the Young Florey Medal is presented by the Australian Institute of Policy and Science (AIPS) in recognition of mid-career achievements in biomedical science and human health advancement.

In our centenary year, CSL is proud to support this award which contributes to a thriving biomedical community.

Professor Kendall shares his work in this short video.

For more information, visit: AIPS Website

Past CSL Florey Medal winners include: 

2015 CSL Florey Medal - Professor Perry Bartlett, on 11 November 2015, in a ceremony at the Association of Australian Medical Research Institutes (AAMRI) Annual Dinner at Parliament House, Canberra, Professor Perry Bartlett, received the 2015 CSL Florey Medal. Professor Bartlett was recognised for his discoveries that have transformed our understanding of the brain, and for his leadership of neuroscience in Australia.

2013 CSL Florey Medal - Professor Ruth Bishop, for her life-long work in saving the lives of young children worldwide commencing with the discovery of rotavirus; a virus that up until its identification in 1973 put about 10,000 Australian children in hospital each year with acute gastroenteritis.
2011 CSL Florey Medal – Professor Graeme Clark, for his life-changing discovery. Over the past thirty years hundreds of thousands of people have had their lives transformed by Graeme Clark’s bionic ear. 
2009 CSL Florey Medal – Professor John Hopwood, for his life-long work into the diagnosis and treatment of genetically inherited disorders that affect children. 

Further details regarding the CSL Florey Medal are available on the AIPS Website.

Inaugural CSL Young Florey Medal

In 2014, CSL, in partnership with AIPS, created a new award, the inaugural CSL Young Florey Medal. CSL congratulates Professor Carola Vinuesa, who was recognised for her research into how the immune system produces antibodies to fight disease and her passion and strength in communicating her work to the community.

Further details regarding the CSL Young Florey Medal are available on the AIPS Website.

© 2017 CSL Limited