CSL Announces Changes to the Board

CSL Announces Changes to the Board

Melbourne, Australia — 17/08/2011

CSL Limited (ASX:CSL) today announced that Chairman, Miss Elizabeth Alexander, AM, and Director, Mr David Simpson, have indicated their intention to retire from the CSL Board of Directors at the conclusion of the Company’s Annual General Meeting on 19 October 2011.
Professor John Shine, AO, who has been a Director of CSL since June 2006, will take over as Chairman of the Company.
Professor Shine is a world leader in molecular biology, the scientific basis for biotechnology, and was a pioneer of the US Biotech industry in the 1970s and 1980s. He returned to Australia to become Executive Director of the Garvan Institute of Medical Research (a position that he will be stepping down from at the end of 2011) and developed it as one of Australia’s premier Medical Institutes. Professor Shine was formerly Chairman of the National Health and Medical Research Council and a member of the Prime Minister’s Science, Engineering and Innovation Council. In November 2010, he was awarded the Prime Minister’s Prize for Science. Professor Shine has extensive Board and governance experience and is well placed to guide CSL’s strategic future.
Miss Alexander has been a Director of the Company since July 1991 and has been Chairman since October 2006.  Prior to becoming the Chairman of CSL, she was the Chairman of CSL’s Audit and Risk Committee. Miss Alexander played a key role in CSL’s highly successful public listing and has been a constant champion of the Company’s international expansion plans. Her financial leadership and strong commitment to corporate governance has helped transform CSL from a domestic biologics manufacturer to a global speciality biopharmaceutical company.
Mr Simpson has been a director of the Company since September 2006, and has served as a member and Chairman of both the Company’s Audit and Risk Management Committee and the Human Resources and Remuneration Committee.
CSL’s Chairman-elect, Professor John Shine said “I am very proud to be taking over as Chairman from Elizabeth after the Annual General Meeting. She has made an extraordinary contribution to CSL over many years and leaves the Company well positioned for the future. I would also like to recognise and thank David for his commitment and contribution during his time as a Director.”
CSL today also announced that Mr Bruce Brook has been appointed a Director of the Company effective from 17 August 2011.
CSL’s Chairman, Miss Elizabeth Alexander, said “I am delighted that Bruce has accepted the appointment to the CSL Board, and am certain that, as an experienced company director and with his strong professional and financial background, he will make a significant contribution to the Company.”
Mr Brook is currently Chairman of Programmed Maintenance Services Limited and a director of Boart Longyear Limited. He has previously been Chairman of Energy Developments Limited and a director of Lihir Gold Limited and Consolidated Minerals Limited. During his executive career he was Chief Financial Officer of WMC Resources Limited and prior to that the Deputy Chief Financial Officer of the ANZ Banking Group Limited.

Download this release: 
PDF icon Changes to CSL Board (0.1 Mb)

Media contact:
  Ms Sharon McHale
  Director, Public Affairs
  CSL Limited
  Telephone: +613 9389 1506
  Email: sharon.mchale@csl.com.au

Investor contact:
  Mark Dehring
  Head of Investor Relations
  CSL Limited
  Telephone: +613 9389 2818
  Email: mark.dehring@csl.com.au
© 2017 CSL Limited